Oatmeal Lovin’

Happy Tuesday Open-mouthed smile

I hope you’re having a great day so far!

Breakfast:

apple overnight oats

Oh man, I had way too much fun editing this picture! (I used PicMonkey – super easy & fun photo editing website).

In the oatmeal:

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1 small chopped gala apple (any kind of apple would work)
  • 1 tbsp. ground flaxseed
  • 1/2 tbsp. chia seeds
  • a huge pinch of cinnamon

I soaked all of this in a nearly empty jar of almond butter in the fridge overnight, and TADA breakfast was ready for me when I woke up!

Overnight oats are quickly becoming a staple over here…they’re really filling (lots and lots of fiber!) and delicious. Yum. Yum. Yum!

*Check out Kath’s blog for lots of great overnight oats recipes Smile 

Basic  to-do’s for overnight oats:

  • All you really need is oats & something to soak them in (milk, yogurt, etc..)
  • Add your favorite fruits, toppings, spices etc…
  • Cool in the fridge overnight (or for at least an hour if you want to make some right now!)

As a kid, I ate cereal for breakfast almost every morning (my parents set a 10 grams of sugar per serving limit on the cereal we picked out, which is definitely something I’m going to enforce when we have kids too…), and I thought oatmeal was nasty!

It wasn’t until probably high school that I started liking the flavored packets of oatmeal, and I ate oatmeal for breakfast quite often in college.

My current oatmeal consumption status:  I’ve pretty much stopped buying the single-serve packets of oatmeal (they’re way overpriced!) and buy the big canisters of regular oats. We go though breakfast phases, but right now I’m eating oatmeal about 3-4 mornings a week. It’s so good! And good for you! I try to add some type of protein to it though, because by itself oatmeal only has about 5 grams of protein per 1/2 cup serving.

Charlie catnip

Have a great morning – I’ll be back later!

Question of the Day:

What’s your favorite thing to put in oatmeal?

Mine is definitely apples…apples and me go together like peanut butter and jelly!

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

