This or That: Health and Fitness

Happy Sunday Smile

I just found this survey at My Food N’ Fitness Diaries, and it looks like fun!

This or That?

1.  Run/workout in the heat and humidity or freezing temps and snow?

Phew – living in Texas for a few years has definitely gotten me used to running in the heat and humidity (pretty much year-round!). I prefer it to running in the snow…freezing cold ankles, toes, and fingers are not my cup of tea!

2. Have washboard abs or flat abs?

Washboard….but my bone structure and extra-short torso aren’t helpful. Oh, and I think washboard abs on women scare Bud, so I’m just fine with where I’m at Rolling on the floor laughing

3. Dr. Oz or The Doctors?

Dr. Oz definitely – although I’ve never seen The Doctors, so my opinion is pretty biased!

4. Cardio or strength?

I like them both pretty equally – my favorite workouts are circuits that incorporate both (Jillian Michaels and Bob Harper have several great videos like this!)

5. Cravings: Protein or carbs?

Do protein-y carbs count? Hahaha

6. Jillian Michaels or Bob Harper?

They both have videos that I like pretty equally (Jillian Michaels Kickboxing, Jillian Michaels Yoga Meltdown, Bob Harper Boot Camp), but I’m more fascinated by Jillian….she has quite the life story!

7. Frozen Yogurt or Ice Cream?

Definitely frozen yogurt, but if an icecream shop only has vanilla and chocolate froyo and peanut butter cup icecream, I’m going for the icecream!

IMAG0050

Peanut butter cup Friend-z at Friendly’s (I had to take Bud there last summer when we went to Connecticut!)

8. To train: Upper body or Lower body?

Upper body

9. Protein powder or food with protein?

I usually have a protein powder shake/smoothie after a hard workouts with weights and/or Body Pump, but throughout the rest of the day I go for foods with protein.

10. Lunges or squats?

Hmmmm, it depends where I am. If I’m outside, then lunges. Inside, then squats. Body Pump is definitely getting me to enjoy squats more, though!

11. Sweet or salty?

Sweet, definitely. I don’t like very many salty foods…and rarely salt my food.

12. Workout attire: cute or comfy?

Comfy, for sure. That can be applied to most of my clothing, actually Smile

13. Body Pump or Heavy lifting?

Body Pump!!!! I’ve never really tried heavy lifting – unless picking Charlie up counts…hehehe! He is one HEAVY cat!

019 (5)

14. Yoga or Pilates?

Yoga – I’ve tried a few pilates videos but never got into it…

15. Nike or Adidas?

Hmmmm. I don’t really have sneaker brand loyalty, but Nike gets my business more often than Adidas (just because of how they fit my feet).

16. Running on the treadmill or outdoors?

Outdoors…but I do feel safer running on the treadmill. Some people near our house let their dogs roam around and I get pretty scared (although it does make me run faster when I’m trying to get away from them!)

17. Whole Foods or Trader Joe’s?

Oh, definitely Trader Joe’s! Whole Foods does have a really good hot food/salad bar though…

18. Summer or Winter Olympics?

Summer for gymnastics, and winter for figure skating. It’s a toss-up!

19. Exercise classes or Exercise videos?

I go through phases….right now, definitely into the classes! Once my membership’s up and we move, I might go back to videos. We’ll see!

20. Steamed veggies or roasted veggies?

Steamed…but if someone else is cooking for me, then roasted!

 

That was fun! Speaking of fun…yesterday Bud’s dad took me to Toro and I had the most delicious dinner!!!!

*If you live in Houston, you’ve got to try this place out! They have really good sushi (and salmon, if you’re like me and don’t like raw fish!)

Torro

With my salmon meal, I got miso soup and a side salad with some really tasty ginger dressing. Oh, and a few cups of hot green tea!

Torro salmon

HELLOOOOOOOOOOOOOO salmon! I love you!

This is the only dish I order at Toro. It. is. so. good. You can get it with rice, but I always ask for extra veggies instead (they’re so good!).

Every time we go to Toro, their salmon is always just as delicious and fresh-tasting. I’m a huge fan.

Megan and Dub Torro

Me and Dub! 

*He got udon noodles with chicken and loved it (I tried a bite, and it was realllly good).

 

If Bud ends up coming back to Houston after boot camp (which it’s looking like will happen!!!!!), we are for sure going back to Toro for one last tasty salmon!

Breakfast:

Last night, I prepared a batch of overnight apple-cinnamon oats!

006 (10)

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1/2 tbsp. chia seeds
  • 1/2 tbsp. flaxseed
  • 1 small granny smith apple, chopped
  • Cinnamon (a very generous sprinkling)
  • Topped with a spoonful of homemade almond butter this morning!

005 (10)

Enjoyed with a nice big cup of iced coffee (made it last night and left it in the fridge to cool overnight!).

Plans for the day: laundry, couponing (YAY!), cleaning, then over to the in-laws for some wedding scrapbooking and taco salad for dinner Rolling on the floor laughing

Question of the Day:

Have you ever had an amazing salmon dish at a restaurant? Tell me all about it!

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

