Homemade Pumpkin Frozen Yogurt

Good Morning!

I took the rest of yesterday off from blogging, but I have some exciting pictures to share with you Smile

Since I ate breakfast when I woke up at 2:30 yesterday morning, I figured it would be a good idea to have a snack before Body Pump…

GATORADE 

Randalls has a new savings program called Just4U, and in my account was a coupon for free Gatorade Energy Chews. The package said to eat these about 15 minutes before exercising, but I split them up into 3 servings (one 45 min. before, one 30 min. before, and one 10 min. before). They tasted surprisingly good…kind of like a gummy vitamin….and I do think they gave me more energy during Body Pump. But….that also could have just been the placebo effect, or the really energetic instructor who played Britney Spears music during class (loved that!).

Lunch:

When I got home, I bee lined it right for the fridge so I could assemble my leftover taco salad! Yep, I was definitely daydreaming about it all morning Rolling on the floor laughing

006 (11)

Pretty much the same salad as Sunday night, but no cheese (I forgot to pack some Sad smile)

  • Iceberg lettuce
  • Ground turkey
  • Beans
  • Avocado
  • Medium salsa
  • Corn relish

Yum. This was so good!

After lunch, I did some prep work for 4-ingredient pumpkin frozen yogurt.

010 (11)

In the bowl:

  • 1/2 cup vanilla greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin
  • Pumpkin pie spice
  • Cinnamon

*I only made half of the original recipe, and didn’t add any sugar

After stirring the ingredients together, I spooned the mixture into an ice cube tray and left it in the freezer for 3 hours.

015 (7)

016 (4)

Our ice cube tray makes tiki ice cubes!!!! (got it on clearance at Target for 25 cents in August Smile )

017 (5)

Next, I popped the ice cubes into the food processor and this is what it turned out like! Wow, it looks a LOT like couscous..hahaha!

018 (4)

Don’t be scared though, it was really delicious and tasted a lot like pumpkin frozen yogurt. Definitely not as good as the kind you’d get at a frozen yogurt shop, but still pretty good for a homemade version! It would probably be amazing with peanut butter mixed in!

020 (5)

This tasty apple was calling my name about an hour later….Body Pump always makes me so hungry!

Dinner:

022 (6)

A nice, lovely bowl of leftovers (these are starting to get kind of boring!)

  • Trader Joe’s harvest grains
  • Texas caviar/bean concoction
  • Topped with sunflower seeds (a good choice!)

I ate this with chopsticks, and it was really difficult to get more than one or two beans in my mouth at a time! Chopstick success! (I’m trying to eat slower so I digest food better…)

And for dessert:

I was starting to feel snacky, so I made a really filling pumpkin pie smoothie.

024 (4)

I used Julie’s pumpkin pie protein smoothie recipe, but used chocolate protein powder instead of vanilla. An excellent choice!

2012-09-24 15.34.44

Charlie was being super-cute last night! I took a bazillion pictures of him, but this was my favorite Red heart

Today’s Breakfast:

026 (4)

One of my favorites: overnight apple cinnamon oats!

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1/2 tbsp. chia seeds (which I forgot to stir and got all clumped together on the bottom Sad smile)
  • 1/2 tbsp. flaxseed
  • 1 small gala apple, chopped
  • Cinnamon
  • Topped with a spoonful of homemade almond butter!

It’s looking like I’m going to have to discover some good banana breakfast recipes…I’m all out of apples! The horror!

*Free meal alert! If you go to Macaroni Grill’s facebook page, you can print a coupon for a FREE “Choose 2” Lunch Combination – valid this Friday, Sept. 28 from 11-4. Awesome coupon – and no additional purchase necessary! I’m definitely going after Body Pump this Friday….there’s a Macaroni Grill about ummm 30 seconds away from the gym!

Have a great Tuesday Party smile

Question of the Day:

What’s your favorite breakfast that has bananas in it?

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

