A Really Huge, Gigantic, Massive Apple!

Happy Wednesday – the week’s just about halfway over already!!!! Ever since I got back from Connecticut, time has been flying by and I am most definitely not complaining!

Before I get to the huge apple (you’re going to be so jealous!), here are some food updates!

001 (16)

Yesterday afternoon I snacked on a cup of Kashi GoLean cereal (it has a ton of fiber & protein Smile), and had a cup of pumpkin coffee. I definitely needed a pick-me-up since I’d been awake since 4:30 a.m.!

Dinner:

002 (20)

A piece of toast.

 

 

JUST KIDDING!

003 (17)

Well I did have a piece of toast (Ezekiel Sesame), but also had scrambled eggs (1 whole, 3 whites). I didn’t want to eat a huge dinner before Turbo Kick…

But…

The chickpeas from lunch attacked me during class. Geez. It’s looking like I shouldn’t eat beans the entire day before Turbo Kick…unless I’m in the mood for some serious interesting sound effects. Hahahaha!

After Turbo Kick, I whipped up a protein smoothie:

004 (22)

  • 1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 9 ice cubes (I counted!)
  • 1 scoop chocolate protein powder
  • 2 tsp. dark chocolate cocoa powder (found this lurking in the back of the cabinet yesterday!)
  • 1/2 tbsp. peanut butter

Yum. The dark chocolate cocoa powder was kind of overpowering though…next time I’ll cut it down to 1 tsp.

Today’s Breakfast:

005 (22)

In honor of Waffle Wednesday, I made a peanut butter & banana waffle sandwich! It was so good,that I gobbled it down in probably 5 seconds. Yum. Perfect Body Pump fuel!

Body Pump this morning was kind of disappointing…

Well, the class itself was great, but I was feeling kind of loopy/tired/sore from TurboKick, so I used lighter weights than normal for about half of the class. Oh well. I’m glad I listened to my muscles (they probably need more than 13.5 hours inbetween classes to recover), but it was still frustrating!

Lunch:

006 (24)

A protein shake (same as last night’s, but without peanut butter)

And….

008 (20)

Leftover chicken tortilla soup! This soup is amazing! I added a few spoonfuls of black beans for some extra ooomph Rolling on the floor laughing

 

Okay, it’s time for the really exiting apple!

009 (18)

A new HEB opened today – which is SUPER exciting because it’s literally a mile from our house! I just found out on Saturday that it was opening today (I thought it wouldn’t be opening until after we move in November), and have been really excited to check it out. Some of our favorite things to buy at HEB are:

  • Coffee (especially Texas Pecan & Lunch with Elvis)
  • HEB honey roasted peanut butter
  • HEB cranberry gorgonzola turkey burgers (in the fresh meat section)
  • Fresh spices
  • Produce (they have the freshest around!)

They even send out a $5 off $50 or more purchase to everyone who lives nearby! (I Red heartcoupons!)

I was planning on using the coupon to stock up on Bud’s favorite things and surprising him with them when we get to Virginia, but it’s not looking like that’s going to happen anymore…

This new store is AWFUL! Well, not awful, but I’m really disappointed.

Reason #1: The parking lot isn’t nearly big enough (it took me longer to find a parking space than it did for me to drive to the store!) Yes, it’s grand opening day, but they seriously need to fix this issue!

Reason #2: It doesn’t have ANY of our favorites, except for produce.

010 (20)

Hellooooo, apples!

Reason #3: It didn’t have any caramel apples (I was planning on treating myself to one today…such a bummer!)

I went to the store mid-afternoon, when I started feeling a bit hungry. HEB always  has foods to sample, and at least I wasn’t let down by that today! I nibbled on guacamole, cheese bread, blueberry crumb cake (YUM!), turkey, and a gingersnap cookie (YUM!).

Well, even though this new HEB doesn’t have most of what I was looking/hoping for, I’ll still probably go back a few times before we move. It’s SO close to our house, and they have lower regular prices on a lot of items that I buy frequently (oats, yogurt, produce). And, they have lots of samples!

They also have one more thing I’ll for sure be getting again soon:

012 (16)

HUGE, delicious apples.

OH man. I was walking through the apple section (favorite part of the store!), and this apple caught my eye. It was so big and perfect looking, that I bought it without even feeling bad about the price. TWO DOLLARS! For an apple!

Let me tell you, this apple was worth every penny. The entire drive home, I debated whether to slice it or eat it whole… I ended up eating it whole, and it took a loooooong time! My mouth could barely bite into it, it was so big! At about the halfway point, I started slowing down, and it felt kind of like I was competing in an apple-eating competition Open-mouthed smileNot to worry, I powered through it and happily enjoyed every bite. Maybe I’ll go back tomorrow at use my coupon to get 25 apples for $45?!

This apple reminded me a lot of when Bud and I were first dating. When I would visit him in Houston, we’d go to HEB and get apples and their honey roasted peanut butter. Bud’s an apple slicing expert! (me, not so much. I don’t know how to get around that little piece of core in the slices!). I don’t know how this all started, but Bud’s mom often buys me a really good apple when she goes grocery shopping Red heartI’d probably get way more excited over an apple than a candy bar if I still went trick or treating!

Question of the Day:

Do you ever buy really expensive fruit because it looks so darn good?

Tagged: , , ,

2 thoughts on “A Really Huge, Gigantic, Massive Apple!

  1. cleaneatingveggiegirl October 18, 2012 at 4:56 pm Reply

    Gosh, I just LOVE me some Kashi GoLean…the BEST cereal and the nutritional benefits rock!

    Was that, by chance, a honeycrisp apple?? I have been splurging lately and buying those and they are HUGE! So big that I often cut it up, eat half, and save half for later.

    • funsizedfitness October 18, 2012 at 7:18 pm Reply

      It was actually a Braeburn – Honeycrisps are one of my other favorites! I probably should have saved half for later (it was so huge!), but I was way too excited :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

