Holiday Survey!

Happy December!

Before I get to a really fun holiday survey, check out what we had for dinner & breakfast….yum!

Last Night’s Dinner:

002 (25)

Homemade chicken parmesan sandwiches!

While the rolls were toasting in the oven, I heated up leftover chicken tenderloins on the stovetop. After everything was good and hot, I melted a thin slice of provolone cheese over the chicken and topped it off with Newman’s Own Tomato & Basil pasta sauce on the bread. This was mmmmmm mmmmm delicious! The sauce made it a pretty messy meal to eat, but that’s what paper towels are for Smile

Breakfast:

003 (23)

Thanksgiving breakfast leftovers: Pumpkin French Toast Bake. Ummm. Wow. You’ve got to try this recipe! We topped ours off with chunky peanut butter and syrup!

004 (28)

I also had a Yoplait apple crisp yogurt (pretty good!) and cup of coffee. Gotta love festive mugs!

And now, in honor of it being the first of December, a fun holiday survey that I found on Julie’s blog!

25 Questions: Holiday Style

  • Eggnog or hot chocolate?

Hot chocolate, definitely. Especially the fancy kinds with peppermint flavoring and/or marshmallows on top! Eggnog grosses me out, but my husband loves it Smile with tongue out

  • Does Santa wrap presents or just sit them under the tree?

99% of the time, Santa wraps presents. I still remember the Christmas that Santa gave my sister and me blue inflatable chairs…those were ready for us to sit on!

  • Colored lights on tree/house or white?

Colored lights! I do think that white lights look better on really fancy houses, but colored ones seem much more festive to me Smile

  • Do you hang mistletoe?

Yes!!!! We need to go find some!

  • When do you hang your decorations up?

Usually the day after Thanksgiving, but this year we’re without our decorations until the moving truck gets here Sad smile We did buy a fake tree at Walmart though!

111

  • What is your favorite holiday dish (excluding dessert)?

Ohhhh, that’s a tough one! Probably my family’s Chex Mix (with white chocolate and m&ms). Other than that, we don’t really have a special holiday dish…

  • Favorite holiday memory as a child?

Decorating the house while listening to “Ooompapa” music!

  • What is on your Christmas wish list?

Clothes, shoes, books…nothing too exciting!

  • Do you open a gifts on Christmas Eve?

My parents always give us a new ornament at dinner on Christmas Eve. It’s a really special tradition, because the ornament is related to a big event that happened during the year. *I’m guessing this year’s might be wedding-related!

  • How do you decorate your Christmas tree?

With colored lights and ornaments. It would be really fun to make popcorn strands to put on the tree, but our cats would go crazy and the tree would probably crash down in about 5 seconds Smile

  • Snow? Love it or dread it?

I love snow! It was really strange to be in Texas for Christmas and not have snow on the ground, but maybe we’ll get some this year in Virginia?!

  • Real tree or fake tree?

Real trees will always have a special place in my heart, but we bought a fake one this year Sad smileIf we ever live somewhere that has snow on the ground and real Christmas tree farms, there will definitely be a real tree in our living room!

  • Do you remember your favorite gift?

Two years ago, I moved in with Bud a few days after Christmas and he bought me a used piano. That was really special Red heart

  • What’s the most important thing about Christmas for you?

Being with my family

  • What is your favorite holiday dessert?

Oh, definitely my mom’s peppermint stick icecream pie. Bud and I actually tried to make one for Thanksgiving this year, but it didn’t turn out nearly as good as mom’s!

  • What is your favorite tradition?

I can’t decide between the new ornament on Christmas Eve and eating donuts (have to be from Dunkin Donuts!) on Christmas morning!

  • What tops your tree?

Good question! I can’t remember if we have a star or an angel. Actually, we might not have a tree topper…we’ll find out when the moving truck gets here!

Winter 2011 181

We can always use Artie as our tree topper!

  • Do you prefer giving or receiving?

Both!

  • What is your favorite Christmas song?

Carol of the Bells, definitely!

  • Candy canes, yuck or yum?

Not my favorite candy of choice…but, I do love candy cane flavored things. Target’s Archer Farms brand has a candy cane flavored coffee out right now that looks amazing!

  • Favorite Christmas movie?

The original Santa Clause movie (with Tim Allen). Elf is a close second, though! Oh, and The Grinch Who Stole Christmas!

  • What do you leave for Santa?

Sadly, nothing…we used to leave cookies (I think?). If we left anything out for him, our cats would eat it Open-mouthed smile. Funny story…a few years ago we had everyone’s donuts out on Christmas Eve night, and Charlie got into them and ate my dad’s and brother in-law’s donuts. Hahahaha.

  • Do you have a Christmas morning tradition?

We open our stockings while eating donuts and drinking coffee/tea/orange juice, and then get started on the Christmas tree!

Winter 2011 192

Last year’s festive Christmas coffee!

  • Do you prefer to shop on-line or at the mall?

Neither…I like shopping at Target! Their Christmas aisles are so much fun to walk through!

  • Christmas letter or Christmas card?

I’ve never sent out a Christmas letter, but I do enjoy getting them from other people! My favorite Christmas cards are ones with family pictures and/or really sweet notes written inside Smile

 

Question of the Day:

What’s your favorite holiday tradition?

Tagged:

2 thoughts on “Holiday Survey!

  1. torontorunner December 2, 2012 at 2:41 am Reply

    The food looks so good!
    Loved the survey – absolutely, hot chocolate always wins!
    I’m not too big a fan of candy canes either!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

