Chickpea Delight!

Before we get to dinner, check out what I got at Kroger today for $7!

023

10 Oikos Organic Greek Yogurts (I can’t wait to try the chocolate flavor!) and a box of hot cereal. I wasn’t really planning on buying anything at the store, but this deal was too good to pass up!

When I got home, I dove right into one of my new yogurts (superfruit flavor) and topped it with granola leftover from yesterday.

024

YUM! I love greek yogurt as an afternoon snack Smile 

Dinner:

Several years ago, one of my mom’s former piano student’s mom brought a platter of chickpeas to the recital (potluck snack/dessert tables are the best!). This was the very first time I tried chickpeas, and I fell in love. Yum. Yum. Yum. My mom got the recipe from the student’s mom, and I’ve tried a few times to recreate it.

The first time was the best attempt, because we had all of the ingredients.

The second time, I burned the onions Sad smile

Tonight was a pretty good attempt, but I’ve still got some tweaking to do!

Here it is:

033

Cooking in the pot

035 

Ready to eat!

030

We picked this whole wheat pita bread up at Trader Joe’s a few weeks ago, and it was the perfect match for the chickpeas!

*I microwaved a frozen one for 40 seconds and then toasted it in the oven for a few minutes…sooo good!

This is a great dish to make for a large group of people, because it makes a TON! I’ll be eating leftovers for several days (probably with veggies and/or quinoa).

Here’s the recipe for you to enjoy!

Sahana’s Chick Peas Recipe

*Increase the ratio of spices according to the number of cans you use

2 cans chickpeas (drained) – I soaked a whole bag overnight, so I used more like 3 cans worth

1 large onion (finely chopped) – I used 3 small onions instead

1 tsp of ginger paste – I used ground ginger instead, but it tastes way better with the paste!

1 tsp of garlic paste – I chopped up some fresh garlic and dumped a bunch of garlic powder in the pot

1/2 tsp of tumeric  *Be careful, this may stain your hands/clothing!

1 large tbsp of tomato paste (I’ve substituted ketchup in the past, but the paste is better)

1 bay leaf

1 tbsp of cumin powder

Green chiles (optional) – none for me!

1 large tomato diced – I used 1.5 cups of canned diced tomatoes

3 tbsp of vegetable oil

1 pinch sugar

Salt to taste

Directions: Heat oil. Add bay leaf, then fry onions until brown. Add ginger and garlic and brown. Then add tomato paste, cumin powder, green chiles, tumeric and a pinch of sugar. Stir while it browns on medium heat until you see the oil separate on the edges of the pan. Add diced tomatoes. Stir. Add chickpeas and stir. When it looks all mixed up, add 1/4 cup water. Cover and simmer.

Money saving tip: buy a bag of dried chickpeas. It yields about 3-4 more servings for the same price as a can of chickpeas (and cuts down a lot on the sodium). All you need to do is soak the chickpeas in water overnight, and cook them for about 1.5 hours the next day.

Have a great night!

3 thoughts on “Chickpea Delight!

  1. thehomeostaticmindset September 9, 2012 at 1:10 pm Reply

    I LOVE greek yogurt as an afternoon snack too! 🙂

  2. Charlie Says Hi! « funsizedfitness September 9, 2012 at 5:16 pm Reply

    […] leftover chickpeas, and sunflower seeds. Yum! This was pretty filling, but before I assembled it I did some prep work […]

  3. […] leftover chickpeas […]

Leave a Reply

