Recipe Fail…hey, it happens!

Good Morning!

015 (5)

Charlie says hi!

I’ve got lots of food to share today – last night I ended up watching What to Expect When You’re Expecting and had a few glasses of wine….probably not the best idea since Bud’s away. BUT, while I was watching the movie, HE CALLED! Yes, I got a phone call from boot camp! Phew, we both got really choked up and then I heard yelling in the background and he had to go Sad smileHe said they’ll get at least two more phone calls, so I’m going to be keeping my cell phone volume cranked up and by my side for the next 46 days!

The movie was really good, but I was super emotional after the phone call and lots of crying was going on over here. Happy crying, but it was my first real cry since he left (I can’t believe it took 10 days to happen!). Charlie kept me company on the couch (he’s got some serious emotion sensors!), and I went to bed pretty early…. probably why I woke up at 3:00 this morning.

Anyways, back to the rest of yesterday!

A few hours after breakfast, I made a chocolate almond butter cookie to hold me over until lunch.

004 (4) 

I’m ready to eat you!

005 (6)

I was surprised how much it puffed up in the microwave!

006 (6)

It looks kind of like a lava cake! (without the gooey chocolate lava…)

007 (6)

Here’s a picture of the bottom. It had lots of air bubbles, and was pretty moist inside. Definitely making this again!

You can find the recipe here. The only change I made was using homemade chocolate almond butter instead of peanut butter.

I went to my first yoga class at the gym a few hours later, and it was really really good. Lots of stretching, peaceful music, and the instructor helped me several times with my poses (at first it kind of weirded me out, but it was actually really helpful!). I’m not sore from the class at all, but it did have some challenging poses and I’m sure it helped improve my flexibility Smile. Yep, I’m going back next Saturday!

When I got home from yoga, I whipped up a chocolate & berry protein smoothie.

009 (4)

  • 1 cup vanilla almond milk
  • About 10 ice cubes
  • 1 scoop chocolate protein powder
  • 1 handful frozen mixed berries

I didn’t want to eat a huge lunch, because I was going to a baby shower in less than two hours and knew they’d have things to eat there…

The baby shower was for Bud’s cousin, and it was mostly mingling and present opening.

I forgot to take a picture of my food plate, but I had some strawberries, veggies, cheese & crackers, Texas caviar (pictures to come….I’ve got leftovers!), and a mini-wrap with provolone and deli meat.

010 (6)

I heated up some leftovers from Thursday night for dinner when I got home….nothing exciting!

Today’s Breakfast:

When I woke up at 3:00 this morning, I watching Mean Girls 2 on Netflix. It definitely was not as good as the original Mean Girls, but it kept me entertained and I managed to squeeze in a 2.5 hour nap on the couch afterwards (thank goodness!).

I’d bookmarked this recipe yesterday to make for breakfast this morning, because I wanted to try something with cashew butter in it.

018 (2)

Ummmmmm, yeah. I have no idea how old the corn starch is that I found in the pantry, but it turned into a gummy/funky smelling mess on my granny smith apple. Major fail! I was bummed that I couldn’t finish the recipe, but the worst part was having to throw out the apple!

I went back to my bookmarked recipes, and found another one that I’ve had saved for a few weeks: a one-minute flax muffin.

020 (3)

I finally opened the bag of blueberry flax seed we got at Trader Joes a few weeks ago (the recipe called for 1/4 cup milled flax seed, and I didn’t feel like grinding & measuring the whole flax seeds that I use in most recipes).

021 (3) 

I chopped a small gala apple and added it to the mix, because, well, I love apples Rolling on the floor laughing

022 (3)

Well, it definitely didn’t turn out looking like a muffin (I blame the apple!).

023 (3)

It was pretty fluffy though, and tasted great. Next time I might add a pinch of brown sugar (I didn’t use any type of sweetener). Definitely an easy breakfast, and full to the brim with fiber.

 

Instead of going to PIYO today (pilates/yoga class), I’m going to a Zumba class. Should be fun!

Question of the Day:

Have you ever unknowingly cooked with a spoiled/bad ingredient and ruined the recipe?

Oh….one time I made cookies with expired Crisco and they were HORRIBLE! They stunk up the entire kitchen!

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

