The Best Times to do Things…

Hello!

A few days ago, I came across a recipe for a homemade oatmeal & honey face mask.

Hahahahaha. Yep, I decided to wing it and mixed together some oats & honey.

036

Oats started falling off my face almost immediately, so I just rinsed the whole thing off. My skin did feel a little bit smoother, though (and the honey smelled good)!

Apparently (I looked it up afterwards…) you’re supposed to grind the oats beforehand. Yeah, that would have probably been better Eye rolling smile

 

Lunch:

We picked up this bag of Harvest Grains at Trader Joe’s a while ago (they’ve got such a good variety of foods there!), so I decided to cook it up and have lots of leftovers for the rest of the week.

017 (4)

I was definitely most excited about the baby garbanzo beans…I didn’t know they came in a “baby” version!

022 (5)

The bag made a HUGE pot – about 10 half –cup servings…. lots of leftovers for me!

019 (4)

The rest of the Texas caviar was calling to me from the fridge, and I decided to bulk it up by adding 3 cans of beans (black, kidney, and pinto) to the container. (I added 1/2 of each can, and put the rest in a separate container for salad toppings).

027 (4)

  • Heaping 1/2 cup of Trader Joe’s Harvest Grains (on the bottom of the bowl)
  • A bunch of Texas caviar/bean concoction

An easy, delicious, bean-filled lunch! I would totally have this again for dinner tonight, but I have Turbo Kick later and need to cut back on my bean consumption before that!

020 (4)

Oh, and I snacked on some baby carrots and an apple slice (leftover from my overnight oats) while the grains were cooking Smile

A few hours later, I ate something delicious. Very, very delicious.

041

Frozen banana delight!!!!!!!! MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM. This might have been the best one yet. The hour that it took to freeze was torturous. I had to distract myself by looking at Christmas decorations on Pinterest Rolling on the floor laughing

This morning I read a really interesting book called Buy Ketchup in May and Fly at Noon: A Guide to the Best Time to Buy This, Do That, and Go There by Mark Di Vincenzo.

The book had lots of great tips about when to buy things and do activities….here are some of my favorites!

  • Best time of day to buy shoes: late afternoon
  • Best time of day to pump gas: morning
  • Best time of the year to buy Christmas cards & wrapping paper: right after Christmas

*we stocked up on wrapping paper and cat outfits/toys last January…Target had great products for less than a dollar!

  • Best day of the week to eat dinner out: Tuesday (freshest food & less crowded)
  • Best day of the week to go grocery shopping: Wednesday
  • Best time of the day to buy bread & fresh-baked goods: late afternoon/early evening
  • Best month to buy dairy products: June/July
  • Best month to buy frozen foods: March or November
  • Best time of day to lift weights: 6:00 p.m. (warm muscles)
  • Best time of day to run: 6-8 p.m. (warm body temperature)
  • Best time of day to eat dinner: three hours before going to sleep
  • Best time of day to fly: noon
  • Best day of the week to buy airline tickets: Monday or Tuesday
  • Best day of the week to get a free hotel upgrade: Sunday or Monday
  • Best time of year to go to Disney World: the fall
  • Best time of day to see your doctor: 9:00 a.m.
  • Best time of day to see your dentist: 1:00 p.m. or after 3:00 p.m.
  • Best time to brush your teeth: about an hour after eating
  • Best time to stretch your muscles: after a brief warmup
  • Best month to get a flu shot: October
  • Best time to take a multivitamin: with breakfast
  • Best time to buy stocks: when a recession has been officially announced

Funny Ones:

  • Best day to visit a Social Security office: day after Thanksgiving (people are Christmas shopping)
  • Best time of day to dumpster dive: 6-8 p.m.
  • Best day of the year to make an offer on a house: Christmas Day
  • Best time of day to perform dangerous tasks: 8-12 a.m. and 4-8 p.m.

I hope you found these helpful/entertaining!

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

