Tasty Taco Salad

Good Morning – Happy Monday!

Yikes….I woke up bright-eyed and rarin’ to go around 2:30 this morning (maybe because I was excited for my taco salad leftovers?!)

Last Night’s Dinner:

Taco Salad Bar!

taco salad

In my bowl:

  • Iceberg lettuce
  • Ground turkey
  • Beans (not sure what kind)
  • Chopped avocado
  • Sprinkling of cheese
  • Medium salsa
  • A ridiculously tasty corn salsa relish (I need to get a picture of the jar next time!)

Yummmm. I can’t wait until lunch (I have leftovers in the fridge!).

Taco salad is definitely my favorite food to order at Mexican restaurants (especially the ones with the crunchy tortilla shell bowls). Whenever Bud’s mom asks for a dinner suggestion, taco salad is usually what pops into my head first!

It would be pretty crazy to make a taco salad bar for myself here at the house (so many ingredients!), but it’s a really fun dinner to have with other people!

 

Breakfast:

Last night, I did some prep-work for this bowl of oatmeal:

001 (7)

There are a billion ingredients in this bowl of oatmeal (hahaha, just kidding Smile )

I found a recipe for oatmeal with extra volume here, and decided to try it out!

In my bowl:

  • 1/3 c. oats
  • 1/3 c. unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1 c. water
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • Cinnamon
  • 1 banana (1/2 smushed in oatmeal, 1/2 sliced on top)
  • 1 tbsp. chia seeds
  • 1/3 c. pumpkin
  • 1/2 tbsp. cocoa powder
  • 1/2 scoop chocolate protein powder
  • 1 spoonful homemade almond butter

Phew that’s a long list! I really liked this oatmeal – soaking the oats, water, & chia seeds overnight definitely made the bowl a lot bigger than usual!

Weekly Workout Schedule:

Monday: Body Pump

Tuesday: Turbo Kick

Wednesday: Body Pump

Thursday: Turbo Kick

Friday: Body Pump

Saturday: Yoga

Sunday: Off/walk/light yoga

*This morning, I started watching the Weight of the Nation documentary series on HBO….recaps to come later today!

Question of the Day:

What are your favorite taco salad ingredients?!

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

