Brrrr, It’s Cold Outside!

Greetings from chilly Connecticut!

Phew – I went for a short run this morning and it was FREEEEEEEEEEZING. brrrr.

The past few days I’ve been majorly slacking at posting…but here are some food highlights for you to enjoy!

Friday:

002 (15)

PB & J oatmeal (with banana). This is easily one of my favorite breakfasts now!

004 (16)

Lunch at John’s Café with Grandma & Grandpa Red heart

005 (15)

John’s Café has become our “go to” spot when I’m in Connecticut for a visit! They bring out homemade hummus and bread, and I always order the same salad…

006 (20)

  • Greens
  • Apple slices (I need to learn how to make these!)
  • Walnuts
  • Gorgonzola
  • Red onion
  • Topped with grilled salmon (I asked for that special….salmon’s so tasty!)
  • Lemon vinaigrette (on the side)

007 (16)

Part of the salmon was undercooked (otherwise I would have eaten it all!), and of course, I didn’t eat all of the purple lettuce. A delicious lunch!

008 (14)

Dinner: taco pasta!

  • Whole wheat pasta
  • Leftover chicken taco meat
  • Cheese

Saturday:

001 (12)

An Elvis Omelet for breakfast!

*It kind of fell apart when I flipped it on the stove…but you can’t really tell from this picture!

002 (14)

Mom, Dad & I went to Panera for lunch after seeing the new movie Fever Pitch. It was SO funny! The music was really good too…I love acapella songs Smile 

I saw a poster a few weeks ago for their seasonal turkey & cranberry panini paired with Sonoma chicken stew….

Mmmmm. This lunch tasted like Thanksgiving dinner – I’m definitely going to have to get it a few more times before the menu changes!

003 (11)

The panini had a really tasty cranberry sauce/jam/spread (not quite sure what it was!), and the turkey was surprisingly thicker than I expected.

004 (15)

The Sonoma chicken stew was SO GOOD. It tasted a lot like chicken pot pie…really creamy and with big chunks of chicken & lots of veggies. The cheddar jack biscuit on top was fluffy, warm, and the perfect addition to this stew!

Sunday (Today):

006 (19)

Lunch: a nice bowl of leftovers from last night’s dinner.

  • Quinoa
  • Chicken
  • Onions
  • Green peppers
  • Tomatoes
  • A few mystery veggies

Exciting news: Mom & Dad finally have a Keurig!!!!! Neither of them drinks coffee, but they got it for guests (like me!) to use, since their former coffee maker was ancient.

004 (11)

I’m pretty sure I saw this in their trash or donate pile this morning….good riddance! (just kidding, it was that bad).

Tonight I’m going to attempt to make some peanut butter banana bread….pictures to come!

Question of the Day:

Have you tried Panera’s turkey & cranberry panini? What did you think of it? (if your answer’s no….go try it!)

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

