Operation: Clean Out the Fridge, Freezer & Pantry

Greetings from Texas!

It’s so good to be back home…where it’s in the 80’s and I can walk outside without a jacket on!

I had a great time in Connecticut – especially with the foliage looking like this:

2012-10-11 11.04.01

2012-10-11 11.04.16

2012-10-11 10.23.34

But now it’s crunch time to get the house packed and get ready to move in November!

For the past few weeks, I’ve been trying not to buy much food (especially bread & cereal) since I’d hate to have to throw it out – and there definitely is going to be limited room in my car. Now that it’s only about 3 weeks away (!!!!!!!!!!!) I’m going to try to only buy foods I need (fresh fruit & veggies, milk, yogurt). It’s actually kind of fun (except there are so many pumpkin breads/waffles at the stores that I want to try so badly!!!!!!).

Last night after I got home, I made a quick stop at Kroger to pick up some fruit & milk. I was SO happy when I found this:

011 (19)

A five lb. bag of gala apples for $3.99!!!! Happy dance!

Whenever I see apples on sale for 99 cents or less a pound, I stock up! I’m guessing this bag will last me, hmmmm, a week? I can easily eat two a day!

My appetite was all out of whack yesterday since we woke up at 3 a.m. to get to the airport….

I was planning on just snacking throughout the day on things I had packed, but when I saw someone eating a salad at the airport during my layover in North Carolina (love their airport!), I just had to have one! I shelled out $8 for a southwestern chicken salad (yikes!), but it was so worth it!

For dinner, I was craving a big bowl of vegetables, so I made this:

003 (15)

In the bowl:

  • Can of stir-fry veggies (rinsed to cut down on sodium)
  • Chopped baby carrots
  • Beans
  • Topped with Newman’s Own Lite Honey Mustard dressing & sunflower seeds

Yum!

Today’s Breakfast:

007 (20)

Mmmmmmmmm. This was amazing. A warm & toasty waffle sandwich.

  • 2 Van’s Flax waffles
  • Peanut butter
  • One banana, sliced

Check out this coffee that my mother in-law got!

004 (19)

WOW. This is seriously delicious.

005 (19)

It really does taste like apple pie.

Like my new mug? My grandma’s cleaning out her condo, and I thought this was so cute & cheery!

Workout:

I didn’t feel like going to the gym, so I did two short videos at home (Charlie joined me for the yoga, hehehe).

1. Jillian Michaels Yoga Meltdown (level 1)

2. Jillian Michaels 6 Week 6 Pack (level 1)

It was a good workout, but not too hard (perfect for a rainy Sunday!)

Afterwards, I whipped up a quick protein smoothie. I was planning on making a pumpkin pie smoothie, but my can of pumpkin in the fridge had MOLD in it! I was devastated!

008 (18)

In the mug:

  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1 scoop chocolate protein powder
  • 1/2 tbsp. peanut butter

Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

Question of the Day:

What’s your favorite flavor of seasonal coffee (or tea)?

Mine’s a toss-up between pumpkin spice and caramel apple pie!

Leave a Reply

